Dear future self

Dear future,

I hope you are good, emotionally more than physically.Mentally and spiritually too. I really hope you are happy with where you are at. The decisions you made, the mistakes you turned into lessons, but mostly, I hope you are stable. You had countless dreams, I pray they were all achieved. Remember when you had that annoying habit of always explaining your ‘No’! I hope that changed, it would be lovely to know that you learned how to be assertive without having to explain to anyone your decisions.

Forgiving was always easy, but letting go was  always such a task, remember that? And remember how that was  the reasoning why moving forward was so hard? We’ll I’m hoping that changed, you deserved better then and you sure do deserve better now. I hope you learned  how to let go on that which always hurt. Let go and forget for good.

You kept on dealing with those who were full of hypocrisy and dishonesty, I hope that maturity came with the realization that you don’t always move forward with everyone.

You always knew what you wanted but we’re always so afraid of what others would think and how it would affect them, that was really sad. I sure hope you realized its everyone for themselves in this world. It is what it is. I hope you learned to accept yourself and your flaws without feeling like you are letting anyone down, don’t feel apologetic for who you are.

Your heart isn’t going to be the determining factor for all your decisions, I hope you realized by now. You have a mind which ensures you remember your worth. Don’t let love fool you in anyways whatsoever. And by now, I know what and who is worth the hustle of life.

School. Family. All that should have been figured out by now. Let’s hope you were able to finish up on the course you’re doing and you ventured in more out there. I hope the perfect relationship you had with your sisters and mother is still intact. I hope the friends you chose to be family are still around and that you’re loyal to those who chose you to be their family.

Remember that time when you felt like what others said would always be the final conclusion? I hope you learned how to lace yourself from all that negative attitude that was always around you. And that you always learned how to ignore all those whose work was to criticize and nothing else.

“Its never that serious”, you always took things too personally and ended up getting hurt. I hope that you learned to shake it off and picked the lessons that were to be picked. You don’t always need to get affected. Sacrifices were your major, You’d always sacrifice for others, but by now, you had better be letting people deal with their actions.

“Its okay to be broken and not okay”, you always told others that but never practiced it. Yes you are strong, but its okay to feel lost sometimes. Let others be there for you sometimes,Let them be there for you. Don’t hold back. I hope you stopped shutting people out. Emotions are emotions. I hope you learned how to stick around those who were out to uplift you, in spirit and in character.

Spiritually i hope you didn’t go against what you’ve always believed in and what you stood for.

But mostly, I hope you learned how to be real to yourself. I’ll be here to remind you of everything that you went through and where we want you to be. We’ve got  your back,enjoy your life. Catch up. Eat out. Live. Cry. Grow out of the ordinary.

 

Yours sincerely,

being.imelda

 

Leave a comment